Dishing it up / with Sharon Insul

Come sit with me for awhile . . .
and see what I’m bringing to the table ®

images

I just can’t wait!!! I am telling you .   .   . the waiting is killing me! I hope that I’m not disappointed. I have crossed my fingers in hopes that July 4th fireworks will live up to last years. To give this years event a little bit of an edgy upscale vibe, I have decided to go with ‘4th in a box’. People easy .   .   . hang on, let me explain.  Sheesh!!! Rather than do the tried and true 4th of July bar-b-que.   .   . no, no, no .   .   . wait a second .   .  . I just heard someone say OMG .   .  . no old fashioned  bar-b-que ? Whoa .   .   .  it’s not the end of the world. So now that you all have lived through my crushing news of no bar-b-que, let’s move on. As you know, I am constantly trying to stretch my creativity, and in the process also tweak my friends’ anticipation of my new creations!!! This year is going to be a blanket celebration, as in picnic. Yes, yes,  you read it correctly. Sorry (giggling).   .   . I needed a moment to compose myself, because I just imagined the look on a few of your faces, and I think I heard one, or two of you gasp when the word blanket came out. To bring all the fixings to the table/blanket I am going to copy the wonderful art of Furoshiki. Someone just said, the what? Oh ye of little faith, please read on…

fr0007m-01-02

Furoshiki is the wonderful art of gift wrapping with fabric. Anything and everything can be bundled into a square piece of cloth. From cotton to the most elegant of silks used for ceremonial kimonos, can be used. I am going to bundle each guest’s goodie bag of food into extra large square scarves. For the women each scarf will have a different pattern, and large enough to use as a shawl while watching the fireworks, and as a party favor. And for the men .   .  . hmm .   .   .  how about a cap embroidered with our American flag? A big ice chest will hold the ‘ice cold pauses that refresh’.  The diagram below is pretty simple to follow. To close the opening (#4), slip one knotted end thru the other knotted opening, using the knotted one that you slipped thru much like a strap on a purse.  Have a SUPER, and SAFE  4th of July!!!

folding-furoshiki-hand-carry-wrap

Are you looking for a new twist on the same-old, ho-hum table setting? Well look no further, help is here .   .   . Now on Amazon / Barnes & Noble /  IndieBound.org             “a collection of… Tableofferings™ from the go-to expert tablescaper” Available in E-book and HARDCOVER  http://getBook.at/Tableofferings.

img_6720

For the kiddies in your life “I am sooo Lucky!!!”  Books 1, 2, & 3 AVAILABLE on …

Amazon      Barnes & Noble     IndieBound.org

Book1  http://getBook.at/book1Lucky    Book2   http://getBook.at/lucky2

Book3   http://getBook.at/Lucky3

Remember if you’re a Prime Amazon member you can read for free!

IMG_7254

Sharon Insul is the former owner of the globally recognized  Beverly Hills boutique Candle light and… Beverly Hills, California, as well as an ongoing contributing columnist for the Beverly Hills Courier Newspaper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sharons3

SHARON INSUL has been FEATURED IN HOUSE AND GARDEN, USA TODAY, JAPAN'S OGGI MAGAZINE, CHICAGO TRIBUNE, IN STYLE MAGAZINE, AND CHANNELS 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 AND HGTV HOME DECORATING CHANNEL and . . . DUBBED "EXPERT TABLESCAPER" by INTERIOR DESIGNERS, DECORATORS, AND SATISFIED CUSTOMERS
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment